I Will… Your Will

I Will… Your Will

God Almighty is about everything, but I believe that one of the most important is… ‘I will’.

The Psalms in Holy Scripture are an awesome collection of praises of the Almighty. In the Psalms, we see multiple instances of God declaring… ‘I will’:

Ask of me, and I will make the nations your inheritance, the ends of the earth your possession. (Psalm 2:8)

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you. (Psalm 32:8)

“Because he loves me,” says the Lord, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. With long life will I satisfy him and show him my salvation.” (Psalm 91:14-16)

The Lord swore an oath to David, a sure oath that he will not revoke: “One of your own descendants I will place on your throne – (Psalm 132:11)

For the Lord has chosen Zion, he has desired it for his dwelling: “This is my resting place for ever and ever; here I will sit enthroned, for I have desired it – I will bless her with abundant provisions; her poor will I satisfy with food. I will clothe her priests with salvation, and her saints will ever sing for joy. “Here I will make a horn grow for David and set up a lamp for my anointed one. I will clothe his enemies with shame, but the crown on his head will be resplendent.” (Psalm 132:13-18)

This continues in Isaiah:

“I will rise up against them,” declares the Lord Almighty. “I will cut off from Babylon her name and survivors, her offspring and descendants,” declares the Lord. “I will turn her into a place for owls and into swampland; I will sweep her with the broom of destruction,” declares the Lord Almighty. (Isaiah 14:22-23)

The Lord Almighty has sworn, “Surely, as I have planned, so it will be, and as I have purposed, so it will stand. (Isaiah 14:24)

Therefore once more I will astound these people with wonder upon wonder; the wisdom of the wise will perish, the intelligence of the intelligent will vanish.” (Isaiah 29:14)

Then the word of the Lord came to Isaiah: “Go and tell Hezekiah, ‘This is what the Lord, the God of your father David, says: I have heard your prayer and seen your tears; I will add fifteen years to your life. And I will deliver you and this city from the hand of the king of Assyria. I will defend this city. (Isaiah 38:4-6)

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. (Isaiah 41:10)

For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you. (Isaiah 41:13)

“Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen one in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him and he will bring justice to the nations. (Isaiah 42:1)

“I, the Lord, have called you in righteousness; I will take hold of your hand. I will keep you and will make you to be a covenant for the people and a light for the Gentiles, to open eyes that are blind, to free captives from prison and to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness. (Isaiah 42:6-7)

“I am the Lord; that is my name! I will not give my glory to another or my praise to idols. (Isaiah 42:8)

But now, this is what the Lord says – he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. (Isaiah 43:1-2)

Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you, I will give men in exchange for you, and people in exchange for your life. (Isaiah 43:4)

For I will pour water on the thirsty land, and streams on the dry ground; I will pour out my Spirit on your offspring, and my blessing on your descendants. (Isaiah 44:3)

And now the Lord says – he who formed me in the womb to be his servant to bring Jacob back to him and gather Israel to himself, for I am honored in the eyes of the Lord and my God has been my strength – he says: “It is too small a thing for you to be my servant to restore the tribes of Jacob and bring back those of Israel I have kept. I will also make you a light for the Gentiles, that you may bring my salvation to the ends of the earth.” (Isaiah 49:5-6)

“Behold, I will create new heavens and a new earth. The former things will not be remembered, nor will they come to mind. But be glad and rejoice forever in what I will create, for I will create Jerusalem to be a delight and its people a joy. I will rejoice over Jerusalem and take delight in my people; the sound of weeping and of crying will be heard in it no more. (Isaiah 65:17-19)

When God Almighty says… ‘I WILL’… He can be taken at His Word!

Throughout all of human history, instance after instance of ‘I will’, as prophecy declared by God, has come to pass, with the exception only of those prophecies that have not yet come to pass because they pertain to what is yet (and commonly agreed to as) future time. The 360+ Old Testament prophecies concerning the circumstances surrounding, and the timing of, the birth of Jesus Christ as Israel’s long-awaited Messiah have all been fulfilled… not a single prophecy among the 360+ prophecies has failed to be fulfilled. The mathematical odds of every one of the 360+ prophecies being fulfilled in one person, not to mention fulfillment of the prophecies in the exact sequence that the prophecies were given, are so immense that no number currently known is large enough to express them.

When God Almighty says… ‘I WILL’… He can be taken at His Word!

God indeed knows everything, because He is omnipresent, which is to say that He exists simultaneously in every moment of time… past, present and future… as well as existing outside of any dimensions, known and unknown, of time as we understand it. Additionally, He is omniscient, which is to say that He possesses all knowledge, and finally He is omnipotent, which is to say that He is all-powerful. There is no place that God cannot be, there is nothing that God does not know, and there is nothing that God cannot do.

God is good: infinitely so:

This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. (1 John 1:5)

God’s only Son Jesus Christ, in God’s unfathomable mercy and compassion, out of His goodness, was given for the sake of the entire world:

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. (John 3:16-17)

Jesus Christ is LORD:

He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. For by him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him. He is before all things, and in him all things hold together. And he is the head of the body, the church; he is the beginning and the firstborn from among the dead, so that in everything he might have the supremacy. For God was pleased to have all his fullness dwell in him, and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through his blood, shed on the cross. (Colossians 1:15-20)

Since there is an Almighty God like this, isn’t it just and right by any argument that can be marshaled that our belief, faith, hope, trust and confidence should be placed in Him?

We have already observed from Holy Scripture… and only from a few examples; there are many more… God says ‘I will’ with meaning and emphasis. What God says will come to pass. There is no fear for the believer in what God does, because His goal is His glory and our ultimate good; we can believe that God has our ultimate good always in His mind because He has said so:

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. (Jeremiah 29:11-12)

I think it is a very short… but a very necessary… step from God’s “I will” to our “Your will”.

This is the concept of surrender: the surrender of our will, and as extensions of that will our desires, our goals, our selfishness, our greed… indeed, our many imperfections, to God, that He may have the supremacy in our lives as He has the supremacy in all other things. It has already been established that God is good: in Him there is everything that we require to have life, to live it to the full, and to be with Him for all eternity… what greater gifts could we have in the here-and-now, and for the forever-after, than what God has given, and continues to give? The very least that we can do, as beings created in the very image of God, is to give God ourselves through our prayers; note that the surrender I speak of is not a new concept. No less a One than Jesus Christ included it in the greatest prayer ever uttered (italic emphasis mine):

“This, then, is how you should pray: ” ‘Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us today our daily bread. Forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.’ (Matthew 6:9-13)

When we pray for God’s will to be done, God will grant what we pray for, without fail… because our motives are right, meaning we are not praying for what we want, but we are praying for what God wants. Our surrender to Him pleases Him, and honors not only Him but the One that He has sent, the Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. We can do no better than to do His will, and not our will. When our focus is on what God wants, that means our focus is not on ourselves, which enables the work that God has for us to do to be done, in a way that pleases Him and makes us His true children.

God has said “I will”. May we say “Your will”.

About On A Journey

It's About Jesus!!
This entry was posted in God, Jesus Christ, Holy Spirit, obedience, preaching, wisdom and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

