The Only Math That Matters

The Only Math That Matters

I have to admit that math was not one of my favorite subjects in school. I have, however, come to respect it because it is at the critical core of disciplines that our civilized lifestyle depends on, such as chemistry, engineering, and physics.

Math does not have to use a complex formula to have a profound impact.

In my Christian walk, I have come to understand that every provision that I truly have need of in this world comes from God alone. Assuredly, there are many people who will dismiss this viewpoint, declaring that everything they truly have need of in this world they have earned for themselves by their own effort. I would reply that these people do not recognize the hand of God in their lives. There are many passages of Holy Scripture that speak to God’s constant and consistent provision for our existence, but to me none of them stands out with more clarity than the words of Jesus Christ from the Sermon on the Mount:

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:25-34)

At the Last Supper, Jesus declared that He was the only way to the Father:

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.” (John 14:6-7)

In the above passage, Jesus and the Father are referred to as separate beings, with Jesus as the way to the Father. One of Jesus’ Apostles, Philip, went on to challenge Jesus with a question:

Philip said, “LORD, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.” Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you are not just my own. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the miracles themselves. I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it. (John 14:8-14)

In this amazing passage of Holy Scripture, the concept of the Triune God (the Trinity: 3 persons in 1 God, 1 God in 3 persons) is seen, and Jesus gives those who would doubt another way in which to believe in Him as the One God sent (Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the miracles themselves.). Additionally, Jesus establishes that, for all believers, they will do what He had been doing… and even greater things than those! Here we see that the power of Jesus Christ would be unleashed upon the world once He had returned to the Father, and again the concept of the Triune God is seen, as the power to do greater things than Jesus Christ did was through the giving of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost: God would forever after be worshiped in both spirit and truth. The Son said that He would bring glory to the Father, and this has come through faith in Jesus Christ, which has resulted in every provision truly needed by God’s people being given through their trust in the God who knows their every need before it is even asked for.

As I have already stated, there are many who will not, despite a preponderance of valid evidence to the contrary, believe in Jesus Christ as the One that God sent. If one’s eyes are shut, and one’s heart is hard, and one’s mind is clouded by the delusions of the evil one and the enticements of the secular world that we live in, there is not much that can be said that will convince that person otherwise. However, because it is the sole purpose of this blog to give glory to God, I must attempt to present evidence for the One whose shed blood has rescued me from the fires of hell; thereafter, the Holy Spirit must convict the heart of the truth.          

Read this to see the presence of Jesus in the Old Testament.

Read this to see the presence of the Holy Spirit in the Old Testament.

Read this to see prophecies regarding Jesus Christ in the Old Testament that have been fulfilled in the New Testament.

Read this to see mathematical proof that Jesus Christ is the Promised Messiah.

Oh, yes… back to the math! Here is my “formula”:

ΑΩ + 0 = ς

Alpha and Omega (Jesus Christ) + 0 (nothing) = final sum (final sigma)

Jesus… plus nothing… is the final sum of everything good.

About On A Journey

It's About Jesus!!
This entry was posted in wisdom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

